Company Information

Board of Directors

Deanne Weir

Deanne Weir

Non-Executive Director and Chair
BA(Hons) LLB(Hons) LLM

Deanne has served as a director of Ai Media since 2010, and became Chair in August 2013.

An entrepreneur, company director and philanthropist, Deanne previously spent 10 years at ASX listed company Austar United Communications as a senior executive, including as General Counsel and Company Secretary.

Deanne is also Chair of Seer Data and Analytics, an Australian technology start-up.

Deanne is passionate about community engagement and the power of story-telling to help influence social change. Deanne was a long-term Board member and Deputy Chair at Screen Australia and in 2017 was appointed Chair of the Sydney Film Festival.

Deanne is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

In addition to her role as Board Chair, Deanne is a member of RNC (Remuneration and Nomination Committee).

Tony Abrahams

Anthony Abrahams

Co-Founder, Director and Chief Executive Officer
BCom (Hons). LLB (UNSW), MPhil. MBA (Oxford)

Tony co-founded Ai-Media in 2003.

Tony served as a Director of Northcott Disability Services from 2010 to 2018, and was recognised by the World Economic Forum as a Young Global Leader in 2013.

In previous roles, Tony worked to establish the Oxford Internet Institute in 2001, while attending the University of Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar.

Tony has been a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors since 2006.

John Martin

John Martin

Independent, Non-Executive Director
BA LLB (Hons)

John joined the board in 2010 and served as the company’s first Chairman until 2013.

He is an experienced company director and business executive having served as CEO and director of ASX-listed Babcock & Brown Communities, Primelife and Regeneus.

John is a former corporate and executive partner of the law firm Allens where he specialised in M&A, fundraising and corporate advisory.

He is a Non-Executive Director of Australian national law firm, Sparke Helmore; biotech company, Biopoint; and US internet services and infrastructure company, Lokket.

John is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Chair of AIM’s ARC (Audit and Risk Committee), and a member of AIM’s RNC (Remuneration and Nomination Committee).

Alison Loat

Alison Loat

Independent, Non-Executive Director
BAH, Queen’s University, Kingston Canada; MPP, Harvard Kennedy School

Alison joined the Board in 2018 and is the Chair of Ai-Media’s Canadian entity.

Alison is the Managing Director, Sustainable Investing and Innovation at OPTrust, a Canadian public pension plan, where she is responsible for environmental, social and governance related aspects of $23 billion CAD in globally diversified investments and for building and managing an investment portfolio that deploys capital at the intersection of sustainability and innovation. Previously, Alison was the Senior Managing Director of FCLTGlobal where she worked with asset owners, managers and companies to advance long-term investing.

She’s also worked at McKinsey & Company, a healthcare technology company and was on the founding team of the MaRS Discovery District, a medical commercialization facility in Toronto. She has a deep commitment to public service. She co-founded and was the CEO of the Samara Centre for Democracy and was a Senior Fellow and instructor at the University of Toronto and the president of the Canadian Club of Toronto. Alison is a World Economic Forum Young Global Leader, an Advisory Board member at the Max Bell School at McGill University, a board director at the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) and a governor of Ridley College.

In addition to Ai-Media, she is also a board director at The Logic, a privately held media company.

She received both the Queen’s Gold and Diamond Jubilee Medals for her service to Canada and was named one of the WXN 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada. She holds a BA (Honours) from Queen’s University and a Master of Public Policy (MPP) from the Harvard Kennedy School.

Alison is Chair of AIM’s RNC (Remuneration and Nomination Committee) and a member of the ARC (Audit and Risk Committee).

Sue Sanossian

Cheryl Hayman

Independent, Non-Executive Director
Bachelor of Commerce

Cheryl joined the board in March 2022 and has extensive experience working as an independent Director across multiple sectors including ASX-listed companies as well as industry bodies and not-for-profit organisations.

Her Board roles include Beston Global Food Company (ASX: BFC) and investment company HGL Limited (ASX: HGL).

Cheryl’s corporate experience encompasses a range of senior strategic technology, digital strategy roles and global marketing roles including Head of Marketing and Innovation at Sunrice, George Weston Foods, Unilever Australia, NZ and UK, Yum Restaurants International and Who Weekly magazine.

Cheryl is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia, and serves as a member of AIM’s Remuneration and Nomination Committee and Audit and Risk Committee.

Lisa Jones

Lisa Jones

Company Secretary

Lisa Jones is an experienced corporate lawyer and corporate governance professional with more than 20 years' experience in commercial law and corporate affairs, working with both public and private companies in Australia and in Europe. She was a senior associate in the corporate & commercial practice of Allens and has held general counsel and executive positions with private and public listed companies in Australia and in Italy. Lisa is the principal of Jones Meredith Group which provides bespoke company secretarial and corporate governance services to listed and unlisted companies.